• Alyssa C
  • Retail Sales Assistant
  • Last/current workplace: Patenaude Martial Arts Summer Camp
  • 30 years old from Carlton, VIC

Introduction

Hi there! I'm a Canadian girl in Melbourne on working holiday visa, and I'm looking for part or full time jobs that will last approximately 6 months or less - I have experience in the hospitality business both working in a hostel at the front desk and working for a catering company as an assistant. At the hostel I was responsible for checking guests in, managing bookings, processing payment, organizing tours and activities, and general cleaning. In the catering company, I was responsible for assisting with the set up and tear down of events, preparing food, serving food and beverages, and cleaning up after events. In addition, I have experience as an administration assistant with the Ontario government. I was responsible for answering phones, directing calls from the public, assisting with organizational projects in the office, and providing administrative support to the engineers in the department. I am hard working and punctual, and I have wonderful people skills. I can provide references for my hospitality experience and administrative experience. I hope to hear from you soon!

Employment History

  • Patenaude Martial Arts Summer Camp

    • Jul 2014 - Aug 2014
    2010) Patenaude Martial Arts Summer Camp - Instructor (July-August 2014): Kingston, Ontario Instructor at a martial-arts themed summer camp, planning and running the programs with children aged 5-12.
  • Boys and Girls Club of Kingston

    • Sep 2013 - Jun 2014
    Boys and Girls Club of Kingston - Recreational Leader (September 2013 - June 2014) Counsellor for an after-school program, providing healthy snacks, homework help, and assisting in the planning and implementation of physical activities, art projects, and personal health and wellness education to children aged 3-12
    • Feb 2013 - May 2013
    Au Pair (February 2013 - May 2013): Torino, Italy Taught English to an Italian family through conversation and play; babysitting, helping with homework and other household chores
  • Ministry of Transportation

    • May 2010 - Aug 2010
    Ministry of Transportation, Ontario - Administrative Assistant Student (May-August 2010): Kingston, Ontario Supported the head of Planning and Design and other engineers through filing, answering phones, speaking with the public, retrieving information, sending faxes, distributing mail, order office supplies, composing and preparing documents for Planning and Design, archiving old documents and retrieving those requested
    • Jan 2009 - Jan 2012
    General Manager (2009, 2012): Directed programming for a drop-in summer camp, managed a ten-person staff, coordinated with a Board of Directors to develop expectations for programming created programming for youth aged 3-17; managed the budget; evaluated staff performance; updated programs to be more efficient and engaging for the children, teens, and families, and planned and coordinated large events for the centre.
  • Lake Louisa Social Club

    • Jan 2003 - Dec 2007
    Lake Louisa Social Club , 2009, 2012): Lake Louisa, Quebec

Skills

  • Other

Education History

  • McMaster University

    • Jan 2008 - Jan 2012
    McMaster University ): Hamilton, Ontario Degree: Bachelor of Health Sciences (honours) GPA: 3.93 Completed a dissertation in the final year: created a 10 week drama program based on Positive Youth Development theory for a group of street-involved youth in Hamilton, ON. The project received good results and was an incredible learning opportunity for working with youth.
  • Bayridge Secondary School

    • Jan 2003 - Jan 2008
    Bayridge Secondary School ): Kingston, Ontario Awards/Honours