• Amy S
  • Administrative Assistant, Waiter
  • Last/current workplace: Christ C of E Primary School
  • 24 years old from Geelong, VIC

Introduction

I have just come from England and seeking work even though I have only been in Australia a week and a half , currently living in Waurn Ponds

Employment History

  • Christ C of E Primary School

    • Sep 2014 - Dec 2014
    Two weeks at Christ C of E Primary School, Colne GGI Office Furniture (UK) LTD - The type of work I did at GGI was Office Admin; the responsibilities were talking to customers on the phone to tell them when their delivery will be taking place. I also did filing at the Kardex area. At GGI I worked in each department to see what sort of responsibilities they have to do and also meeting new people. I worked at GGI from September 2014 to December 2014; I only did this full time position temporary as I wanted to come to Australia. Placements whilst at Nelson & Colne College:- • Trawden Primary School • Blossom Tree Nursery • Toddle In Nursery • West Street Primary School The first time I worked with children was for my work experience at my old primary school (Christ Church C of E Primary School) when I was in year 10. For those two weeks I worked in the reception class with the reception teacher and had various jobs to do including playing in small groups, helping the teachers at lunch time, helping the staff supervise outside. I really enjoyed my work experience placements as this helped me decide that I definitely wanted to work with children when I left school. I have always been able to relate well with children younger than myself. Whilst at my placements in primary schools through college, I was able to learn more about child development including physical development, Intellectual development and language and communication. I thoroughly enjoyed my time at these schools and working with these children. At nurseries I worked with both age groups (under 2's and over 2's). I used to meet the parents and talk to them about their child. I enjoy working well as a team and always listen to respect the managers. When my tutor has been to assess me, she has been very pleased with my work with children. If I am unsure about anything I will ask so I understand and listen carefully to instructions given. The main part of my volunteering role is attending Ice Club which is for children with special needs or physical disabilities. The Club gives them access to sporting facilities and I help them with this. Hobbies and Social Interests I enjoy horse riding and running. I help out with my brother's football team (Colne FC) by collecting subs money and attending training sessions. I have been a Volunteer with the Sports Development Team at Pendle Leisure Centre since September 2010. This involves regularly helping out with ICE CLUB which is for children with special needs, marshalling major events such as the Pendle Triathlon and helping out with any other local or holiday events. I also babysit for my parent's friends occasionally. I enjoy keeping fit, listening to music and spending time with my friends.

Skills

  • Waiting Tables
  • General Office Duties
  • Microsoft Office
  • Cash Register Operation
  • Cleaning
  • Administrative Assistant

Education History

  • Park High School

    • Jan 2007 - Jan 2012
    Email- VISA GRANT NO- (This is a working holiday Visa) Education Record: Park High School 2009- GCSE ICT
  • Nelson & Colne College

    • Jan 2012 - Jan 2014
    Nelson & Colne College BTEC Vocational Childcare (CACHE LEVEL 2) (CACHE LEVEL 3) Maths English Food Safety Award Paediatric First Aid