• Karen A
  • Other
  • Last/current workplace: Wildlife Rescue and Rehabilitation, Inc,
  • 24 years old from Crawley, WA

Introduction

I am a current graduate student looking for a summer jobs. My skills include the use of MS Office programs (Word, Power Point, Excel, and Outlook), strong oral and written communication skills, data collection and analysis, general GIS knowledge (Arc GIS), general animal husbandry, administering medication to multiple animal species, and nutritional diet preparation. Fluent in Spanish, conversational level of Portuguese and basic level of French.

Employment History

  • Wildlife Rescue and Rehabilitation, Inc,

    • Aug 2017 - Dec 2018
    Aided in the successful rehabilitation of more than 7000 native animals by working as part of a team in the rehabilitation hospital. Prepared and distributed nutritional diets to both native and non-native species of mammals, birds, and reptiles. Independently performed daily animal care tasks such as feeding, cleaning, providing enrichment, and medicating multiple species of native and non-native animals. Participated in rescues of injured/orphaned wildlife. Participated in releases of successfully rehabilitated native wildlife.
  • Texas State University

    • Oct 2015 - May 2017
    Collected data on the effects of the use of social media for educational purposes. Cleaned and coded the collected data to generate relevant data sets. Analyzed different sets of data using Excel. Presented research findings at the 2016 National Association of Biology Teachers (NABT) conference in Denver, CO.
  • Texas State University

    • Feb 2015 - Apr 2015
    Took on the role of usher for university baseball and softball games. Greeted guests properly and with a positive attitude. Ensured ticket holders sat in the corresponding section of the stadium. Directed guests to different sections of the stadium when needed (bathrooms, concession stand, etc.). Worked collaboratively with other ushers.

Skills

  • Research
  • Data Entry
  • Animal Husbandry
  • Data Analysis
  • Handling and Transporting Animals
  • Biology
  • Other
  • Customer Service
  • Software - Word

Education History

  • Texas State University current

    I attended Texas State University for 4 years where I acquired my Bachelors Degree in Wildlife Biology. Some of the most relevant courses I completed amongst many others are: Zoology, Mammalogy, Ornithology, General Ecology, Wildlife Management, Ecology of Rarities, Tropical Ecology, and Conservation Ecology.