• Ji-Hyun Y
  • Performing Artist, Bartender
  • Last/current workplace: MTL corporation (Bar)
  • 23 years old from Melbourne, VIC

Introduction

Non-binary/trans boy on a working holiday visa from South Korea. Majoring in music and miniring in art at CalArts(California Institute of the Arts), looking for music/art/media/LGBTQI+ relalated jobs.

Employment History

  • MTL corporation (Bar)

    • May 2016 - May 2017
    Worked in an electronic music cocktail modern bar as a talking bartender/server, 10-12 hours till closing 5-6 days per week. Managed sales and stocks, served drinks such as cocktails, whiskey, wine, champagne, beer, and food. Washed dishes and glasses, cleaned and resetted the bars, sometimes DJed. Also, most importantly, had conversations and drinks with many different customers, building special relationships and interacting with them, especially my own regular customers.
  • GS25 (Convenience Store)

    • Nov 2015 - Sep 2016
    Worked as a full-time cashier and at the same time a store manager at a convenience store 10 hours 5 days a week. Was engaged in most of store management stuff such as stock managing, organizing, cleaning, and also various customer services.
  • Meerkat Corporation

    • Jan 2015 - Nov 2015
    Worked as a full-time employee 5-7 days per week. Offered a range of services, such as due diligence, retail stocktaking service, store & warehouses management, and season renewals, to supermarkets, department stores, convenience stores, cosmetic stores all around Seoul city and nearby suburbs in South Korea.
  • Ashely (Family Restaurant Franchise)

    • Aug 2014 - Oct 2014
    Did a full time job as a kitchen hand, taking charge of making side dishes, salad for the salad bar, and washing dishes, and cleaning for closing.
  • 7-Eleven

    • Mar 2014 - Aug 2014
    Worked as a part-time employee 10 hours every weenkend at a convenience store. Did duties of a cashier, dealt with customers always friendly, received products and managed stocks, displayed the products and organized & cleaned the store.
  • Dombedon (Jeju Black Pork Restaurant)

    • Dec 2013 - Feb 2014
    Worked as a part-time employee at a Korean BBQ Restaurant 6 hours a day everyday with occasional day offs. Served, waited, did some basic cooking stuff such as grilling and making fried rice for customers, cleaned and organized the restaurant at every closing.

Skills

  • Singing
  • Music
  • Waiting Tables
  • Beer Pouring
  • Stage Acting
  • Cash Register Operation
  • Bar and Beverage Service
  • Dancing
  • Front of House Duties

Certificates

  • Responsible Service of Alcohol (RSA) Certificate
  • Workplace Hygiene Procedures Certificate

Education History

  • California Institute of the Arts current

    Bachelor of Fine Art degree in Musical Arts/Experimental Pop Major & Digital Arts Minor